Plextor 716 external performance question

vbimport

I bought the external 716 today, and I was able to burn about 4.7gigs of data to a dvd+r in about 10 minutes.

When I tried to rip a normal CD using iTunes, I was only getting about 9.x speed, what is up with that? This burner has a 48x CD ripping speed, so shouldn’t it be higher? Is it iTunes that limits this? What program will give me the higher speeds? I am linked with firewire, btw.

rondocap, I would test the drive using Nero CD/DVD Speed create data disk (press F9 key) and then do the Transfer Rate test (F2 key). Please show us the graphs. Then we can judge from there.

You can download Nero CD Speed here: http://www.cdspeed2000.com (freeware).

Plextor Forum folks this is what I sent to Newbie forum earlier this week. I am new to DVD burning with lots of prior success in CD burining.
I have a new PX 716UF dual format dvd burner, Dell 4600C w/ 512 MB RAM and 40GB hard drive + a Western Digital 160 GB USB External Hard Drive (I’m using all it’s space for ripped dvd’s and DVD burning software) I have a DVD player in the Dell that I copy from. I want to play my copied DVD’S on a stand alone Panasonic PV9451 (it supports MPEG2 DVD’s) and is only 2 years old
I am trying to back up my DVD movies, I have so much trouble with that, that I haven’t yet had the chance to try much else. first thank all of you for your suggestions.
Now some more specifics: I am doing ok with decrypting and ripping to my HD. I am using the Freewar Decrypter 3.2 for this. After ripping with decrypter, I can open these; all the titles or chapters (whichever) are labeled Nero Showtime File–they are opened by and play on Nero showtime (it doesn’t look like Windows Media Player will open them)–does that tell us anything about this problem? I think this is the way they wound up as a result of the decprytion process in Decryptor 3.2.