Plextor 708A - odd problems

Hi there. I am a newbie and not really a tech freak. I got a few problems with the Plextor 708A (just upgraded the firmware):

1. when burning audio discs I can’t burn them at 2x speed anymore as I used to do when I had an HP discwriter. Is this because the CDR media is not compatible anymore with 2x speed writing or can I change the speed somewhere in the preferences of the 708A (I know I can but there’s no option for 2x speed)? I am asking cos I burn a lot of live CDs and I found it safe to burn them at 2x speed and disc-at-once to avoid small pause gaps (under 1 sec) between the tracks which can be really annoying when listening to a live CD. In the past, when I burnt a live CD with the Plextor 708A, I always got these gaps at 4x speed (with or without VariRec).

2. What is the absolut best CDR media for the 708A to burn audio discs and can I get these in Germany?

3. what software is recommended to burn audio discs? I got Nero 6.3 something but I always get these gaps. I tried Wavelab 4.0 and this one is doing better. But still…any other recommendations?

4. when burning a data DVD-R, it always takes up to an hour to burn 4 GB on the disc. How’s it possible that it takes so long? It says it gets burnt at maximum speed so it is supposed to burn it a hell of lot faster, isn’t it? What could be wrong?

A lot of questions, I know. But I’d be thankful if anyone could contribute. Thank you!

Alex

Hi phonoline, welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

About your questions:

1. The 708A does not support 1x-2x CD burning speeds, so there is no way to get 2x burns. However, the problem of gaps between audio track has nothing to do, as far as I know, with burning speed. It is related to the burning method (DAO is fine for that) and the software. You should be able to get gapless audio CDs with almost every burning software available today, free or commercial.