Plextor 40/12/40A + firmware ver. 1.02?

Hi all, I have just bought this burner plextor 40/12/40A a couple of weeks ago (based on the good reviews I saw everywhere). It is my first burner so I am a COMPLETE NEWBIE in the big world of burners, and burner software.
(and as expected) I am having big problems burning protected CD’s - securom “new” (Warcraft), and I think safedisk 2 NEW (GTA 3).

Well, I have been reading almost all of the threads about burning these games, and many people can burn them without any problems at all!!! (or so they says) and everybody is using either cloneCD, Blindwrite or cdmate, and some other software. Those are the programs I have. I have tried them all with the profiles people have says should work. Well, they don’t… not on my burner NOT ANY OF THE PROGRAMS!!! And I find that very weird. I also find it weird that I am not able to extract the subcodes right, from a sucorom protected CD. My burner should be able to do that……or what???

Everywhere I see this: “DOWNLOAD THE LATEST FIRMWARE” and that should do the trick. But that was the first thing I did when I got my burner, which is now ver. 1.02. but I haven’t tried to burn anything with the older versions of the firmware and I have heard a big fat bird singing about that the ver. 1.02 isn’t so good??? Well, I will like to find out so here comes the question: can I “degrade” my firmware to lets say ver. 1.01 or 1.00 without the burner going CRAZY afterwards??
I have had some bad experiences on doing that with software, and the program didn’t work at all afterwards. I don’t want that to happened to my expensive and very new burner (i am not that rich and I don’t like to throw out my money on something ridiculous - like a new burner)

Ps. I have used some of the programs, to find and KILL protections : first I used insektor (blindwrite) then playback (cloneCD) also clonyXXL (cloneCD) and a lot more. They didn’t work. Not in my case