Please Help with Liteon LVW 5005

vbimport

Hi all,
Just bought the 5005 at KMart. How can I tell if it’s got the latest updates?
The manufacted date is September 2004.
I noticed in the manual, they’ve got the recording quality at 1, 2, 4 and 6hr modes. It doesn’t mention the 3hr mode, but it shows it on mine. So please let me know if I need to do any updates? I’m not good at these updates and I’m just afraid I might mess it up. If I do need to do updates, what are they for and wat do they fix? Before I start making DVD’s? Please any help would be much apprecitated. Thanks.

To find out what firmware is on your 5005, press the Setup button on your remote and at the top of the screen you will see faint white numbers.

xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx (xxx - xxxx)

the third set of x’s is your firmware version

It says 0090. What do the updates solve? And will the 3hr. recording mode still be there if I do the updates? Thanks so much for the help.

Very good question! Let me check mine!

You will lose the 3 hr mode if you upgrade the firmware, so you will need to do the hack to get it back. Seems that your 5005 had the firmware hack done to it because they never had 3 hr recording mode.

Hi,
I went and download the update from Liteon’s website and found the Hack and did what it said, but I’ve not made the CD, yet.
This is what it says when I do the firmware hack:
Searching file.
Found Macrovision Hex String at 0x000A13CF.
Removed Macrovision.
Found Main Checksum at 0x000000EB.
Could not find LP checksums. (Skipping LP Hack)
Added Region Free.

It says it’s skipping the LP hack. I’ve got the 3 hr mode right now with the firmware 0090 firmware. If I do the hack or the update will I lose the 3 hr mode?
Either way I go? Please if anyone can answer these questions. I’d really appreciate it.

You will need the 3 hr mode on the hacked version or you will lose it when you upgrade the 5005