Please help! Trying to install new DVD burner right now!

vbimport

I’m trying to install a Pioneer DVR-A07XLA burner and I’ve screwed up. This is my first attempt at modifying anything in a computer. I have a Dell Dimension 4100 with XP Home. I HAD a NEC DV-5800A (DVD player) and a Sony CRX 160E (CD burner) when I purchased it. I’d decided to take out the CD burner and replace it with the Pioneer DVD burner. I thought it would be as easy as removing the CD-R and matching the settings with the new DVD burner, but now it’s not recognizing either drive at all. I even tried putting everything back to the original condition and it still doesn’t work. Is it possible I’m not connecting it right or what. The jumpers seem to be correct. Please help!

OK, here are some steps that I recommend you follow:

(Assuming that you’re using the Secondary IDE channel for both opticals)

1. Take both drives out of the system.
  2. Look at the jumpers and make sure the Pioneer burner is set to MASTER and your DVD reader is set to SLAVE.
  3. Now, connect the power cables and IDE cables into the back of the drives and install them into the system, making sure that MASTER plug of the IDE cable (the plug at the end of the riibbon cable) is connected the the burner and the SLAVE plug (the plug in the middle of the ribbon cable) is connected to the reader.
  4. Reboot the system and it should all go well. You might want to update your drives with the latest firmware revisions.

Regards,
TerminalVeloCD

its not important which plug is connected to what drive…
You ONLY need this plug description when using ‘Cable Select’ on all drives.

You only need to set the “jumper” to match the configuration you want to use.

For example, if you want to use a Pioneer DVD writer as main drive and a Sony CD writer as auxilliary drive, set the jumper of the Pioneer as “Master” and the jumper of the Sony as “Slave”.