Please Help..So many mistakes!

Hi, I’m new to all this, so please bear with me.

Just a couple of questions to start off…A friend put Dvd Decrypter on my pc
and i am really pleased with it. He showed me how to use it, and i do exactly what he showed me. I do not go messing about with the settings as i know nothing about iso, ifo, etc. Just one silly question…do i select main movie files, or select all? I am not bothered about trailers etc, but it seems some films will not work selecting movie only but will work selecting all, and vice versa. Or is it just trial and error? I record a lot from Sky and from Vhs and from my own personal dvd collection.

Another thing is, i have at least 5 brands of dvd recorder/players in my house.
I know that sounds extravagant but i do have my reasons for so many, as i live in, and own a Lodge, and they are purely for pleasure.
The problem i am having is, i cannot seem to find a disc that is compatible with all players/recorders. Especially my Panasonics DMR-ES20DEB.
The amount of discs and brands i have tried, and still have in my cupboard, are very many. The only ones that seem to work in all of them, are ridisc purple, and Datawrite yellow, up to now, and they are hit and miss.
I cant tell you how many discs, of my nearly 500 dvd collection, i have tried, and have failed to play in all players. So i am at my wits end now.
I am trying to copy my collection onto a compatible disc with all players, and keep them as backup discs, then transfer them onto something like Ty Yudens
I ordered some Ty Yudens white top inkjet printables , a few days ago and they seem to work fine in all players.