Please help me upgrade my dinosaur

Hi all, I’m a newbie so go easy.

I want to upgrade my old AMD XP2400+ PC but want to keep the AGP graphics card(Radeon 9600) and IDE HDD’s and IDE dvd writers.

The kit I have my eye on is the Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 or E4400, ASRock PT880 motherboard and 2gb of DDR 2 5300.

I also have a PCI SCSI card with 3 other hard drive running from it that I MUST keep and a Creative Audigy 2 sound card that I would like to keep, unless the on board sound is acceptable.

The main worry I have is that I will have to format my C drive, this I really don’t want to do as I would loose my AnyDVD and Clone DVD programs that I have full licences for, but have lost both activation keys due to a corrupt Outlook archive file :sad:

Do any of you think that I could get away with just installing the new kit and plugging everything in and hoping that the system will boot (XP Pro) or will this create more problems.

I’m desperate to upgrade as my old PC is now really struggling to keep up with what I want it to do.

Any help would be greatly welcome. :slight_smile:

If you install a new mainboard, is practically sure that you’re going to have to format your hard disk.

You could try to look for the clone DVD and anydvd keys in the registry, backup them and restore once you format.

Yes, forget about transferring your existing Windows installation to a new motherboard. Chances are slim it will work - and even if it does, you’ll probably have a corrupted and unstable system with driver conflicts etc. A VIA chipset wouldn’t be my first choice either. Intel would be a better option (ConRoe865PE for example, even if it’s DDR1 and AGP only).

Maybe you want to post in the AnyDVD or CloneDVD forum, to see if there’s a way to retrieve your license information before proceeding with the upgrade.

If that’s all your worried about then see if this helps. Works for me because i tried it :iagree:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showpost.php?p=1838298&postcount=2