Please help me...my back up dvds are randomly crashing!?!?!

Hi everyone, I am a newbie and my name is Bill and as you’ve read my back dvds ups are crashing. What frustrates me the most is that they are now just starting to do so after dozens of successful burns. The reading and writing process go off without a hitch. The disc ejects and I pop it in to view it and all appears to be fine. However 5, 10, 25 minutes into the movie, the screen gets pixelated and then begins to skip, freeze then completely crashes. Sometimes it will do so with maybe 5 minutes to go in the movie. Its’ seemingly hit and miss with me.

My PC is a refurbished HP with a 300n dvd/cd burner. I am using CloneDVD2 to create my back ups. I was using Centrios dvd+r media; 5 blank dvds with cases for about $12.00, 45 total, all worked beautifully with no errors. Then I switched to Osidisk; 25 blank dvds per spindle for about $23.00. I bought 3 spindles total, the first spindle worked great, 4 discs into the 2nd, I realize I have a problem.

At first I thought that it might be the actual burner, so I uninstalled my burner then reinstalled it, afterwhich I updated my firmware from a version 1.25 to 3.05. I then tried backing up 2 dvds and both worked great. Then other dvds started crashing. So I tried reading with CloneDVD2 and writing with Nero Express and again my first 4 dvds I backed up worked great, so tonight I try backing up 2 dvds and I waste 5 blank dvds in the process. What is going on here, is it my burner, my software, or simply crappy media? Could it be downloads I have going on or other programs (ie MSN) running? Because this wasn’t a problem before.

Has anyone else had this happen to him or her?
Any help/advice/salvation regarding this problem would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for your time.