Please help in choosing between NEC-nd3540 and BenQ-1640?

Hi All,
I’m new to DVD burning and after reading the reviews and threads on a bunch of burners I am now more confused then when i started. I’m looking to buy my first DVD Burner. I would like to

[ul]
[li]Rip DVD’s
[/li][li]Burn DVD’s
[/li][li]author DVD’s
[/li][li]use dash media
[/li][li]and some CD writing
[/li][/ul]

What is most important to me is quality of the burns at the expense of speed(30 secs is not a big deal for me) as well as the durability of the player. Mod’s to FW is a plus. I understand that different media performs differently on the burner, if possible when recommending a burner please suggest the media that over time has proven to work best with. Feel free to recommend other brands.

Thank you all very much for your time and thoughts!!

P.S. If NEC should I wait for 4550, if so why?

Someone can correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m almost positive that NEC firmware has the most unofficial support around, and therefore is very easy to modify and definitely has the largest number of modified versions of DVD+/-R drive firmware on the Internet. Well, Lite-On may be tied with NEC when it comes to customization and the amount of firmware available, but NEC makes better drives anyway.

Beyond that, NEC makes really good drives to begin with; great compatibility overall, and the ND-3540A also supports 8x Dual Layer writing… not sure if the BenQ does.

I see no need to upgrade from my ND-3540A, it’ll be the last DVD+/-R drive I’ll own… not until Blu-Ray/HD-DVD comes around will I consider something new.

i second that, plus i think i saw somewhere 1640 tends to create reading curve dips at the end of 16x writing, or am i wrong?

Yes you are :wink: - the reading curve is affected on the 1640 but it’s not due to the writing quality, if your perform the test of a 1640 burn on a 3540A there is no dip. Also I think it was a firmware thing as my own 1640 doesn’t do that neither with BSLB nor BSMB f/w.