Playing Matrix DL DVDs on PS2

vbimport

I’ve been burning single-layer DVDs using a Lite-On LH-20A1P-186 burner, Nero Express 7, and Memorex DVD+Rs (RW) for a few weeks now with no problems at all.

But today, I started burning DLs using Matrix DVD+R DLs (RW) and have encountered a problem: the DVDs I burn won’t play on my Playstation 2 (it says “Disc Read Error”). This is the only DVD player I have other than my computer and a friend’s, both of which the DLs I burn do play on. My friend burned some DL DVDs using Memorex DLs and they play on the PS2 without any problems. What might be the cause(s) of this? I’m new to this, so any advice would be appreciated, thanks!

(Note: I am not using downloaded ISO files, but making backups of purchased DVDs.)

Hi egmassa and welcome to CD Freaks,

It looks like a media problem, I don’t know those Matrix +R DL media but I guess they are cheap and of low quality. You could do a Disc Quality scan using Nero CD/DVD Speed with your Lite-On drive and post the results here, then we can say more.

Anyway, I suggest you to use high quality DL media, such as Verbatim, they are more expensive but the only good DL media available at the moment.

As of yet, there is no DL RW media.

Buy Verbatim DL, the only choice.

I tracked down a standalone DVD player and they play fine, so I’m thinking it may be a PS2 problem. I’ll buy Verbatim in the future, but as of now have 50 of these Matrix DLs and don’t want to just throw them out. Let me know if you think there’s anything I can do and I’ll post a Speed scan, didn’t want to this time because I’d have to waste a disc on it (won’t scan without CreateDisc for some reason).

You don’t have to waste a disc on it, simply scan one of the already burned discs ;).

Here it is, looks awful, though it played fine.