Platinum freezing system

Greetings all from a noob,

Have a problem and hoping someone can at least give me a place to start.

I’ve been using Fab Platinum for a couple of months (since the last 3.x release I believe), and for a couple of months and the three for four times I used it after purchase it worked fine.

But, last week (i was still using 3.x) I started the Fab, and I noticed that it would not recognize any of my optical drive sources. The two drives work fine in every other use/respect.

Apps may freeze from time to time, so I figured I would just shutdown fab, and restart it. so, that is what I did, so I thought.

After the app window disappeared (as app had closed) I attempted to start fab up again, but no window appeared.

I checked Task Manager to see if there was another instance of fab running, and there was. I’ve seen this happen with apps before, and usually not a big deal either.

I attempted to “end process”, but the program instance would not shutdown. I’ve rarely seen this, but have seen it happen nonetheless. So, tried again with no success.

I then tried to use the Shutdown command from the command prompt with the force switch, hoping to force it down, and shut the system down gracefully. But, system would just hang trying to shutdown. I tried just pushing the button hoping ACPI would do the job, and nothing. I eventually just had to kill the power.

After restart, I tried using Fab again, and had the same problem. I even went as far as using third-party process killer (i.e. Killprocess, ProcessExplorer). Once an instance of fab is started, it will not end, period.