Pivos AIOS HD MEDIA CENTER

vbimport

Good Morning: I just purchased an AIOS HD Media Centre. I had seen comments on this unit in a thread but it has been a few months since I’ve been on this site and I’m not sure what the thread was called.

I want to purchase an Internal HDD 3.5" Sata hard disc to store some of my original movies on. Can anyone tell me if the one I am listing below would be a good choice or could somebody recommend one.

Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive . Would I have to buy cables to connect this to my AIOS?

I would appreciate any comments and suggestions. Maybe I should be looking at a 2 or 3 TB drive.

I have no first hand experience with this product, but here’s the Spec Sheet from the mfr’s webpage

It says “hot-swappable SATAI/II” connections so it sounds like you can plug in a bare “internal” drive. No cables necessary. “Hot-swap” means there’s a bay or a ‘dock’ that the internal drive can be slid into.

Most hard-drives you can buy now will be SATA II or SATA III, which are all backwards compatible. If you can find a cheaper SATA-II drive, there’s no reason to spend a dime more for a SATA-III version just because it’s newer.

I’d ask AIOS this question, plus a couple of others…

For several years, there is a class of hard-drives called “Green” or power-savers, or sometimes the label is “IntelliPower”, meaning the drives can initiate a Sleep Mode, consuming little power when the drive hasn’t received Access Requests (Reads, Writes) after X minutes - 1? 2? 5? 10-20-30 - whatever.

If the AIOS doesn’t support “green or IntelliPower services”, then it might believe “Uh oh, the hard drive has died! It’s lost power!!” It may not realize this is a Sleep Mode and all AIOS has to do is send a “Now I Need The Hard-Drive” command for it to wake up and function properly. AIOS might shut down thinking the drive’s dead and no need to stay operational.