Pioneer DVR 109 - Burn starts but HUGE wait time

vbimport

Hi to everyone!

I am new to burning and am currently encountering some serious trouble. I wasn’t sure whether to put this in the newbie forum or the Pioneer forum. I will include a listing of my specs at the bottom of this post.

I bought a DVR 109 and hooked it up to my computer using a Creative I/O 5.25 Enclosure. The enclosure uses USB 2.0 hookup. When I turn on my computer, it recognizes the burner as the F drive. My other two drives are a 16X DVD-ROM drive and 48X CD-RW (on board)

I downloaded DVD Shrink 3.2 and I don’t seem to have any problems re-authoring or getting to the encoding stage. It usually takes me about 15 minutes. I place the DVD I want to back-up in the DVD-ROM drive.

Initially, I installed Nero OEM Suite to backup my DVDs at the encoding stage. I selected the “Burn with Nero” option. When the program opens the “Burning” window, the file caching starts and finishes and the burn process starts at 8X. The bottom of the menu writes the “Lead-In” and “Tracks” but THEN THE PROBLEMS START. My burner gets to 1% burnt and doesn’t go any further. I have sat for 20 minutes waiting before I decide to abort. The disk is a coaster because it’s given the name I have assigned it, but practically nothing has been burnt to it.

I uninstalled Nero and tried using DVD Shrink instead with DVD Decrypter to burn. I was also able to encode and burning would start. However, the log on Decrypter would alternate between an unknown burn time and 8+ hours while burning at a tiny rate. I also give up on this after 20 minutes.

I haven’t installed any firmware on my computer. When I bought the DVR 109, I was told I could start burning once I had set-up the enclosure and attached it to a USB 2.0. I haven’t altered the DMA settings and I haven’t touched my Chip Drivers.