Pioneer 112D bitsetting

is bitsetting that important?

just got a 112D firmware 1.22 and want to know if i should go through the trouble of flashing it (i have never done this before)

is it hard/risky for someone who has never done it? (don’t care about the warranty issue just the risk)

if i just use quality media and check for quality burns without bitsetting am i missing an important step?

@ radiohead21,

Using known proven quality Media such as Taiyo Yuden or Verbatim Media is an important step in obtaining consistent quality error free results.

The reason BitSetting is desirable is that BitSetting changes the Book Type of DVD+R Media from DVD+R to DVD-ROM which makes the Media more compatible to DVD PlayBack devices during PlayBack Viewing.

Perhaps reviewing the below CD Freaks article will provide additional information ->

http://www.cdfreaks.com/reviews/Increased-compatibility-DVD-bitsetting

The stock Official Pioneer DVR-112D Firmware only provides Auto Book Type BitSetting of DVD+R DL Media. The “Patched” Modified Firmwares adds Auto Book Type BitSetting of DVD+R SL Media.

The Media Code Speed Edit tool will “Patch” DVR-112D Firmware to allow Increase Read/Rip Speed, RPC-1 “Region Free” and BitSetting. Suggest reviewing the Pioneer DVD Burner Read First posting titled “MediaCodeSpeedEdit support for Pioneer DVD-Writers” (http://club.cdfreaks.com/f87/mediacodespeededit-support-pioneer-dvd-writers-153213) for detailed information on using the MCSE tool.

DVR-112D Firmware download links can be obtained by reviewing the Pioneer DVD Burner Forum posting titled “Post new firmware and tool ANNOUNCEMENTS here” (http://club.cdfreaks.com/f87/post-new-firmware-tool-announcements-here-210917).