Pinnacle DVD quality is no better than SVCD

vbimport

I edited video from my Sony Hi8 using Pinnacle Studio 8, but when I burned
a DVD from Pinnacle & played it in my DVD player, the quality was no better
than an S-VCD. It was grainy. When I play the video directly form the Pinnacle software, on my PC, the quality is very good.
I also tried making an MPG2 video, which looks great on the PC, & burning that to a DVD. The quality of the video was no better.
Anyone have any answers?
Thanks, :eek:

No, but a lot of questions.
What aspect ratio is the original, the result?
What framerate is the original, the result?
What bitrate is the …, …?

OK, I get it… but I’m new to video editing.
What are the right answers for getting good quality DVD video?
Or , can you point me to a good source for this info?
Thanks, :bow:

You need to know the details of your source.
Get Gspot and load your source video.
Take note of the stuff I mentioned above.
I don’t use Pinnacle (too buggy), but someone else that does can probably help with the output, once we know the details of the input :smiley:

Pinnacle’s too buggy, I’ll say!
Can you recommend something better that’s not over $100.00 ?
Thanks again, :iagree:

Nope. :smiley:
If you want good quality output, you’re going to probably invest in decent software.
There are better standalone apps, that do one thing, and do it very well, and the combination makes a superb dvd.
Get a dedicated encoder. There are lots, try them all, buy the one you like best. Canopus Procoder, Mainconcept mpeg encoder, Tmpgenc, QuEnc…
Get a dedicated authoring app. There are lots, top of the list ones retail for well over $500. Try DVDLab (www.mediachance.com) as probably the best for under $200.
There are also better capturing apps. I use Virtualdub, it’s free, there are more.
Do some searching in the Tools section at www.videohelp.com and download some trials. keep whatever works best for you.

Thanks for your advice…I tried EditStudio W/ MPEG XS which includes