PIF exceeding PIE - do I win? And, the importance of scanning

Hehe, not only is this one of the freakiest scans I’ve ever made, but it also illustrates that people who scan aren’t “media-geeks” -well, not just :wink: - but are safe in the knowledge their discs aren’t accidentally messed up.

Burned these two about a year ago at 4x in a NEC1300A.

They are from the same spindle.

First, I scanned this gem, that had always given my DVD player some trouble:

Now I know why!

And later, this one:

All others from the same spindle that I could locate, showed similar results as the last scan.

Now I’m back to not just testing one in ten discs, but every last one I burn.

Or buy TY’s? :stuck_out_tongue:

My R20’s come out quite poor but my R03’s come out quite nicely. Now only like, using TYG02 and stuffs, je weet toch alles :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m really new to this but even I am impressed with the first scan :smiley:

@Dekoning! : Would be so kind to post a transfer rate test of this disc? I’m curious to see how the high errors impact the 1655’s reading curve… this drive is rather new and I’m interested in how it behaves in this area… :slight_smile: (but maybe it’s off-topic here, so if you post it in the Benq forum please PM me OK? :flower: )

Funny thing, my first backup of Blue Velvet (great movie! :bow: ) was rapidly afflicted with high PIF peaks just like yours! (was one of those G05 discs that gave me and others so many headaches… :Z ) - could it be that Lynch movies do some mambo jambo to the burners? :bigsmile:

I wanted to post it more as a discussion and freaky scan than as an addition to the BenQ forum, so as I understand it, this is the correct place.

The green line is the reading curve. The dip in the beginning (at 138MB) occurs with each and every disc, so discard that one. There was no slowing down, the drive behaved like the disc was perfect. Only when you view the scan, it is revealed to be rather ‘special’.