Pie/pif test question

Hi,

I’m new to this so please excuse my ignorance.

I’ve recently read about how to test for PIE/PIF, and I realize I was actually doing that since some time with CD-DVD Speed, using a Sony CRX-320E (if I correctly remember) combo drive. But now, reading the documentation, I realize there is a clear diferrence between my results and the theory. For ex, for Verbatim Azo media I get average PIE=10,30 and PIF=1.50 (with Nero CD-DVD Speed). I also have an ASUS DRW 1608P (f ver 1.50) DVD-writer, but when I use it for testing with CDSpeed I get strange results and with DVDInfoPro, I get an error message telling me the drive doesn’t support this function.

By the way, the combo drive is not in a perfect state, to be more precise it only read DVD media, in can no longer read/write CDs.

Question 1: it is possible that the errors reported are so big because of the drive used and not the media? Or because the drive is a combo?

Question 2: even so, can I rely on this drive to (only) be able to see the diferrence in quality between 2 DVDs?

Thanks in advance.

Transferring to ‘Media Testing/Identifying Software’…

Christian, welcome to CDFreaks! :slight_smile:

Yes that is not only possible but even likely. The drive used for Disc Quality Scanning always impacts the results, but some drives are worse than others in this respect.

You will mostly see DVD quality scans performed on DVD burners on these forums, and quality scans performed on DVD-ROM and Combo drives are usually not comparable to scans performed on DVD burners (the DVD-ROM/Combo drive scans usually show much higher PIE/PIF levels).

Question 2: even so, can I rely on this drive to (only) be able to see the diferrence in quality between 2 DVDs?
Maybe. I’m not familiar with your drives, but if you get reasonably consistent results when scanning the same disc, you might be able to use your drive(s) for comparing DVDs.