Photog New to DVD Burning has QC issues

vbimport

Hi all. I am a photographer based in Ireland. I have a new “business model” working with youth sports that means I will need to burn 20-30 DVD’s for each match that I shoot.
I am using ProShow to create an ISO file then ImgBurn to burn the DVD’s (MCC 03RG20) on a BenQ1625 - and that just about exhausts my knowledge of DVD burning! I did come across the Manufacturer ID issue and so got away from some cheaper brands to ones that were rated at least acceptable.

My issue is one of QC. I burned about 20 “good” DVD’s on Saturday afternoon with about 8 “bad” ones. In the process of checking (playing the DVD’s on a new, albeit cheap, home DVD player hoooked to my living room TV) the DVD’s that I burned, the “bad” ones would skip or pause. So, I would reject them. But, I did notice that if I rewound them and played through that part again, it would often play OK, but skip or pause at a later point. Which raises the question, “will the ones that I checked as “good” stay “good” or would they possibly skip if I watched them again?”

And so, my questions are all QC related. 1) Is there anything I can do (software, new burner, even better media) to decrease or even eliminate the “bad” burns. 2) What is the best way to QC DVD’s after burning? 3) Is there software that will “self check” during a burn so I don’t have to worry so much about QC? 4) Is there software that will QC the DVD after being burned so I don’t have to watch it in real time on the TV!!

I’ve really got to get a handle on these issues and so I really appreciate any input and advice.

Regards,
Tom

Hey Tom, welcome :slight_smile:

About the software disc-checking…CD-DVD Speed is great software for quality-checking your discs after they’ve been burned (the newest version is 4.51 I think - check them using your BenQ). Others will be able to tell you the correct speed to scan at, and the “acceptable” error levels for BenQ drives. :slight_smile:

Download here.

Hi,