Phillips SDVD8431 3 Limited Region changes? how do i make multi region?

Hi all

This is my first post. I’m from the UK and I must say firstly i am not that technically minded, but i can battle through any advice given. I have just bought myself a Fujitsu Amilo laptop, that came complete with a Phillips SDVD 8431 dvd player / writer. Im pretty dissapointed with the whole set up in all honesty, its taken me ages just to get things to work, not just with the burner. I installed the firmware thing and it finally burnt a cd ok for the first time today.

I bought the machine to watch dvds on while i am away from home, i have a huge collection from all round the world, although watching a region 1 for the first time last night i had to physically change the region code. To my dismay the Phillips player has a caution message telling me i can only change the region code 3 times then it is stuck in whatever i had it on last?

This seems unbelievable to me - why only 3 times?, it didnt say this was an issue when i bought the laptop…

Anyways, im wondering if you good people could tell me if there is a way to make this a perminant multi region device?

Any help would be appreciated, before i throw this laptop in the bin

Thanks

Dee

This seems unbelievable to me - why only 3 times?, it didnt say this was an issue when i bought the laptop…

Not unbelievable at all since ALL pc drives have a limit of 5 region code changes. It didn’t say it was an issue because it’s not an issue per se, it’s the standard.

you can check to see if a rpc-1 firmware is available for your drive. this will make the drive recognize all regions. please note that flashing with unofficial firmware (ie f/w not from the manufacturer) will void your warranty.