Phillips DVDRW885: can anyone help me?

Hello everyone - newbie here! Not sure what the protocol in this forum is but whats everyone drinking ?:smiley:

I wonder if any of you may be able to help me with a conundrum that I have…:o

I am not highly computer techy but can find my way around if you know what I mean.

I am running a Pentium 4 pc with windows XP professional SP2. I have a Phillips DVDRW drive - model Phillips DVDRW885 Dual Layer.

For video editing I am using Ulead VideoStudio 11 Plus - release 11.0.0157.0 Plus.

I am having a problem with burning discs once the video is edited. If I insert a DVD+R disc it recognises it fine, and burns quite happily.

However if I put a -R DVD (the preferred disk for video?) it does not even recognise there is a disk in the drive and just keeps telling me to “insert disc”.

It quite happliy will play -R discs though…

But if you put a blank -R disk in the drive, and try and browse it in explorer - again it doesn’t seem to recognise that there is even a disk there…

Am i missing something ? Or is there a fix for this ?

Very sorry if this is a silly question -but any help would be appreciated! Thanks everyone

Hi 998gsb and welcome to the forums.

Try updating your firmware. I seem to remember something about this drive needing to switch between different firmwares depending and what you are burning.

Edit - this link may help http://club.cdfreaks.com/f92/what-about-dvdrw-885-r-support-109383/

Thank you Keyap…I had a look at the link you posted - to be honest i lost the gist about half way through - when it started talking about flashing etc…:eek:

Forgive my ignorance, but what is “Firmware” and where do I get it from ?

Thank you again for your help…

Here is the link to the Philips firmware update page:-

http://www.storageupdates.philips.com/en/dvdrw.html