Philips PBDV1640P failing halfway thruogh discs

vbimport

I’m a rookie here so any help would be most appreciated, OK I got an OEM Philips PBDV1640P and stuck it in My PC, it reads and plays DVD’s perfectly, but when I try to burn a movie it fails about halfway through (but in a different place every time), I tried different Brand of Media and got same problem, tried DVD+R and DVD-R but it still failed, now this is the odd thing, I then got a DVD+RW to save wasting disc’s and it burned perfectly??, I’ve tried different burning software but it made no difference, I cant seem to get any error detail except in Nero it gives a fixation error.
Please Please Please HELP !!! :confused:

if you are using Winxp go to Admin/tools/services and disable Imapi cd-burning com software.That should fix it.

Thanks Happynow, I’ll try this, do you think I shoud update firmware from 2.2 to 2.5 ??

Don’t know about the firmware as mine is a 1640p but with b2.2 (OEM) firmware and it won’t let me change it to the p firmware. Mine doesn’t have the fancy lights on the front.

Yes Mine IS the OEM Also, it doesn’t have fancy lights either, I will try your suggestion with the imapi,
Many thanks

put the BenQ firmware B7P9 or B7S9 i it.
much better than the philips firmwares.

Did the suggestion work Uch ?

I cannot try suggestion until I return home this evening, but if it does I will let you know.

I put the b7s9 on but haven’t tried it out yet. Will burn one later to see how it compares to the B2.2

I’ve tried this but it didn’t do any good, tried to upgrade firmware but the exe wouldn’t work, I did notice this time that the error was a “Communication Failure” this time. Any more ideas please anybody ?? :confused:

I Forgot to give specs, PC is XPprosp2 256 ram 2.2GHz asrock board

What software are you using to burn and what version?
Is DMA mode 2 enabled?
Are you burning the Movie on the fly or from hard drive folder?