Philips DVDR520/75 - able to change quality speed on copying?

Hi,

I am new to both this forum and DVD recorders. I have recently purchased a Philips DVDR520/75 (with 80GB hard disk).

At first, I was recording programs on the hard disk. But as the hard disk is becoming less space, I started to copy those programs onto the DVD. The original programs I recorded on the hard disk was in M1 (the HQ quality). Is there anyways for the programs to be burnt onto the DVD becomes other quality (ie. M2 or M2x / SP or SSP)? Or is it only that what I originally recorded as, will just copy itself onto the DVD without able to change the quality?

Thanks for reading and hope someone can answer this question.

I have just purchased one of these models (DVDR520M/75).
Have had several problems,needing to unplug the unit in order to continue

Im seriously considering returning this unit.

to answer your question no you can not change the quality so it will fit on
your dvdr dvd-rw.

your stuck with the orginal quality. :sad:

Hi, thanks for your reply.

Was it that you get screen freeze during editing tracks?

issues ive had with it so far

1.Complete freeze when playing back dvd-rw (needed to unplug to restore)
happened 3 times. :a
2.Wouldnt delete some old titles (would get to about 80% then freeze)x 3
3.Completely lost a title (not deleted by me) :sad:
4.Lost chapter inserts.

Very fussy on DVD-RW media
have tried :
imation 4 x RW ok
verbatim 4x RW ok (sometimes)

Hope your having better luck :eek:

I don’t believe there’s no patch/firmware upgrade available… Yet there isn’t any on Philips’ website :rolleyes:

I am returning the unit sooner or later (once I copied all the tracks I’ve got on the hard disk) because some tracks on the hard disk wouldn’t delete at all (similar to your situation 2, but mine wouldn’t able to be clicked in at all neither play or edit).

I haven’t have any title lost yet :bigsmile: