Philips DVDR3305

Hi - this is my first post. I’m new to this technology so please bear with me.
I have just bought a new Philips 32" lcd HDTV with integrated digital, PF5520 and a DVD recorder, DVDR3305.
I believe I have all the connections correct,i.e.scart, co-ax.
My problem is that I am unable to record any digital programmes on my DVD recorder.
Can someone give me an “idiots guide” or advice as to what to do. I have scoured the manuals for both but can get nowhere.
Please help - I’m going loopy!

Cheers

Wylam :sad:

Are you in the UK?

Yes.

Assuming you have a separate Freeview receiver:

a) Are you in an area with good Freeview reception?

b) Have you tuned the receiver to the Freeview channels?

c) Can you get a Freeview picture on the TV, even though you can’t record?

Yes to all three questions.
I can record analogue TV but not digital.

OK well the 3305 doesn’t have a Freeview tuner though… it’s analogue only.

You’d have to connect the Freeview receiver via the alternative input at the back, and select that input when recording.

I realise that - but the tv does have a digital tuner and as it was bought as a package I was told I can watch one format and record the other. My dilema is that I seem unable to view any digital programmes through the DVD recorder.
What am I doing wrong!!!

I see - then perhaps you need your DVDR connected to the bi-directional SCART on the TV, so that it can feed stuff to the recorder as well as receiving playback signal.

The DVDR is connected via scart to the TV.

…but to a bi-directional SCART socket at the TV end? Your TV manual should tell you which is which.

There are two scart sockets on the TV and the manual says both are bi-directional. Anyway the DVDR is connected to the one ias instructed in the TV manual. having said that I have tried swapping them round to no avail.

Is there anything in the TV setup menu which you need to alter to get the TV signal to be output through the SCART?