Percentage acceptable for 1 disc backup?

vbimport

Hi!

I’m a noob to DVD backuping, so i’d appreciate your opinions. This is highly subjective matter, but still.

How high encoding/transcoding compression rate do you consider acceptable for a 1 disc backup?

In other words, at which percentage do you choose to split into two discs instead of one?

Thank you

It really depends on your playback equipment, me personally I choose to split at 65%-70%.

besides the equipment, it also depends on the original source, since a movie that started out with a much higher bitrate can obviously be compressed much more than one that started out at a lower bitrate.

Good point about bitrate. I wish that DVDShrink reported not only % compression but also the target bitrate, so one time 60% is good, and other time 80% is not enough…

wow…that’s something i never concidered, and it explains alot. thxs.

too many users are concerned with having hard and fast guidelines regarding what percentages are acceptable when there are so many variables involved that such guidelines really don’t exist. as an extension on Goudo’s example, let’s say that movie “A” has a constant bitrate of 9800kbps (the max allowed for a dvd). compressing it to 50% will still have it looking great. on the other hand, let’s say movie “B” has an average bitrate of 4000kbps. compressing this movie to 50% will look horrible.

I hope this is not too dumb a question, but how do you get the information on the bitrate of a movie?

Adding to Agent_007’s question (since I don’t know the answer :wink: ):

What is considered a lower limit bitrate for a “good quality DVD”?

relatively few people know how to view the bitrate of a dvd. i really only know of one program myself, which is Bitrate Viewer. if anyone has other programs that they use to view dvd bitrates (i know of plenty for avi), feel free to reply.