Pentium 4 or AMD?

vbimport

What do you think are the best processors to get?
Think about the cost, power, cpu speed etc.

with amd you get the best value for money. Only problem being that if the heat sink fails, the processor will fry, but if you use an Intel, its has something (that im not quite sure about) which stops it from getting damaged

I just asked you that question? You think Intel is the way to go. I have no experience with AMD but form what I have been told, they are great.

have that’s a motherboard feature and most good mobos these days have that protection. If they detect the CPU getting too hot they shut down.

Every PC I have built has been AMD and as I build for my friends they all had commercial Pentium based machines before. They all seem happier with the performance.

Unfortunately this type of debate is the same as the Apple or PC debate, both sides have their supporters and detractors.

On price AMD everytime. I just had to build a system for a friend he wanted it pretty much the same as the one that was for sale in Aldi. I did it and still had enough to add a 19" tft monitor to the package.

I’m a hard core pentium fan and I just googled and read and read and read after all the findings I am now in the process of building an AMD but I’m getting the X2 4800+ or the X2 5000+ Plus going to mod it out. This will be my first AMD board and Processor I have used Pentium since 1995. Price and performance this is the better route. Amd is even getting in line or passing intel on multi-tasking too. So it is a better bang for the buck.

Intel Core Duo. :wink:

Seems that Dell will be using opteron processors from AMD soon.Source

Only problem being that if the heat sink fails, the processor will fry, but if you use an Intel, its has something (that im not quite sure about) which stops it from getting damaged

Good grief, that hasn’t been true for a long time. All current MB’s will shut down with over-temps.