Pentax ist ds?

vbimport

I got one cheap and was wondering if any dslr users could give any advice?

While I am not new to cameras, I am completely new to slr’s of any kind. Having recently lost my sony v-1 (could be floating around, lost at the zoo or stolen), I have been looking for another camera. I have wanted a dslr for years but they were always too expensive. Normally I would research a camera extensively but I ran across the pentax ist ds kit for 275$ new at the wolf camera clearance center and impulse bought it due to the price. Knowing what I know about the clearance center, it could be a return, display model or whatever but is sold as new with full warranty. The items look handled (no film over the screen and finger prints) but looks new. cables look unopened (though the manual looks slightly looked at).

So how does this camera compare to something newer or anything else I might be able to find cheap (keeping in mind how much I paid for it). I might be able to spend as much as 450-500$ (so entry level model only), but it a real stretch of the budget to go that far (plus the pentax uses aa batteries and I wouldn’t have money for additional battery packs on a newer camera if it uses them). This will primarily be used for family photos (nothing professional or even serious amature hobby) as I don’t really have the time for much recreational shooting anymore (young kids). I mainly want an slr for better low light performance (preferably without flash) and better image quality. Faster performance would of course also be a plus. You never know, now that I have a dslr, I might get back into a little amature recreational shooting, but only a little.