PC Upgrade Questions

Hello Everyone!

I am new to CDCLub Freaks. I have a few upgrade questions. I hope someone can help. I built my system on my own. Now I want to uppgrade it again. I will list what I have now. I am more concern about the motherboard and ram. I was told the info for the motherboard is no longer available. so this is what I have as of now:

MotherBoard: Pc Chips M848 Rev. 2 ( I know cheap board, was i could get
at the time.)

Processor: Amd Athlon XP 3200+

Video Card: Radeon 9250

Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy

Memory: 1535 MB. (PC-3200)

My other question is can this motherboard be upgraded? or the ram? please let me know. thank you all in advance for your help.

1. What is the intended use(s) of the computer ?
  2. The system is aged and some would say to retire it.
  3. The mobo is weak
  4. The graphics card is weak.
  5. The processor was one of the best in its day and I still have 3 in service.
  6. The memory is OK for XP

You could look for a used nForce2 400 (chipset) motherboard and a used AGP graphics card to rehab the old boy.
It wouldn’t be worth pumping much money into this, so look for fire sale prices on the above.
I once found an ABIT NF7-S v2.0 at a garage sale for $2.00
This was one of, if not the best soacket A boards ever produced.

If you go this route, if possible post back with your findings before you buy.
All of the best components (and the turds) of this era are well known.

[QUOTE=jflan;2222555]1. What is the intended use(s) of the computer ?
2. The system is aged and some would say to retire it.
3. The mobo is weak
4. The graphics card is weak.
5. The processor was one of the best in its day and I still have 3 in service.
6. The memory is OK for XP

You could look for a used nForce2 400 (chipset) motherboard and a used AGP graphics card to rehab the old boy.
It wouldn’t be worth pumping much money into this, so look for fire sale prices on the above.
I once found an ABIT NF7-S v2.0 at a garage sale for $2.00