PC to Satellite TV

I have a subscriotion service, and the company has installed a dish like the one in the picture attached.

I want to connect my computer with the dish to receive free channels while maintaining the subsription (and hence the receiver in the lounge room, which uses a smart card as shown in the picture too).

I saw an advertisement about the AverMedia DVB-S Satellite Digital TV Tuner PCI card.

Is this card any good?
Will this be able to connect to my dish?
What is the name for the standard connection from the dish (75 ohm?)
Do I need to add another connection from the single satellite dish to both the receiver in the lounge and the PC? and is this possible (can i use one dish for 2 receivers?)

The Sales people at the store was not very helpful so I have no idea where to start and what to do…

Please Help :slight_smile:

PS: I’m from Australia

Going by the specification, the card looks to have some useful features - Infra Red, S-Video out and Composite out. The rest seem to be similar to the Skystar2 DVB card.

While some of the more high end cards support MPEG2 decoding, this is of no real benefit unless you happen to be using a slow PC (<1GHz).

If you plan on picking up free-to-air channels on the same satellite as your subscription channels are on, you will not need a second dish. In this case, there are two methods of connecting the PC DVB card up to the same dish. One method is by using an A-B switch to split your existing satellite receiver cable with your PC. This would be ideal if it is too ackward to add a 2nd cable run to the dish or if you do not plan on using the satellite receiver at the same time as using the PC’s DVB card. :eek:

The other option is to replace the LNB with a dual LNBF LNB and take a 2nd cable run to your PC. This will allow both the PC and satellite receiver to work off the same dish simultaneously. :smiley: