PC crashes during DVD burn

Okay I’m an extreme noob so go easy on me. :doh: I’m having a few problems and was wondering if anyone out there could help out. First what I have:
I have only a 1.1 ghz with 148M of RAm running on Windows XP Home. With SP2 installed. My DVD writer is the NEC 3550a and I have been using imation DVD+R discs, for backing up some DVD’s and data from my PC. To back up DVD’s I am using the Clone DVD and AnyDVD combo from Slysoft…and yes I have the most current verisions directly from thier web site. I had not been having any problems and all of a sudden I tried to back up the movie Persuasion and had a crash with an error. However, the crash results in two different types of errors, and now I cannot burn any type of DVD without a crash and error.
One of the two errors sends me to the Windows Blue Screen of Death :bigsmile: with the “Bad_Pool_Caller” nonsense. The machine reboots, says I recovered from an error…and that’s it. Sometimes I don’t get the BSOD, instead the machine just instanly restarts itself. Then it says that there was an error, when you click on it for detailed information it says “Mini012406-02.dmp :a
:a Sysdata.xml” :Z

Or something to that effect. I assumed it was a virus so I scanned with AVG Free and the trial version of Macafee, and found nothing. I also scanned with Ad Aware, and removed any possibly harmful files it found. Also no help. Finally I used TuneUp Utilities 2006, to fix any registry problems and clean my disk drive. Also no luck. So here I am, not able to burn any DVD’s and I don’t want to re-format and re-install windows (if it’s needed) until I can back up my precious MP3 collection. Spent 3 days ripping all my CD’s dammit! Anyway, if anyone can make some suggestions, I would be much obliged, thanks in advance for takin it easy on the noob! :bow: