Path/File Access Errors When Using AVS/DVD Menu Editor

vbimport

I am running AVStoDVD 2.7.5 under Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. When I add the .MP4 files I want to burn to DVD everything works normally. Whenever I attempt to run the menu editor however, I get the message “Error 75: Path/File Access Error” even after I have made sure that AVStoDVD is running in “administrator” mode. I have checked all of the settings for the program numerous times now and made sure the files and paths are correct.

Also, if I bypass the menu editor, I can go ahead and burn the selected files to DVD without any problems. They just don’t have any menus of course when I do that. The problem only occurs when using the menu editor and does not occur in any other programs which I use under Windows 7. The problem first occurred under AVStoDVD 2.7.2 so I upgraded to 2.7.5 to see if that would correct it but the upgrade made no difference.

Also, I am fairly new to AVStoDVD. When burning 4 .MP4 files to an .ISO file (approx. 200,000 each) which is about the max I can fit on a blank DVD-R, the conversion runs my CPU flat out for about 3-4 hours or so, the time it takes to complete the conversion. My system has a 2.7 ghz dual core processor and 8 GB and AVStoDVD uses 100 % of my CPU and about 50% of the memory during the entire conversion process, even after I have shut down everything else running on the system during the time that I can. Does this seem normal?

Thanks for any feedback or help anyone can offer.

I tried to get AVStoDVD to give me the error but it was too intuitive.
It gave me warnings when I set the wrong path for the menu templates.
I used some unusual file names with characters but AVStoDVD didn’t have an issue with those. If you have a very long file name it might be a problem but I didn’t test that.
I suggest uninstalling AVStoDVD &installing it fresh.

Also you might try this first after the uninstall:
Get the NoInstall Package & try AVStoDVD as a portable.