PAL-NTSC COnversion Prob or copy protect?

vbimport

Hello all - A newbie here. Any help would be appreciated. I purchased a region 2/PAL DVD from UK. Not available here in US. Have tried converting with modest success. Converted video shows annoying horiz dark stripes along high contrast boundaries whenever rapid motion occurs. Some episodes (it’s a tv series) have none of this, others have a lot.

I have ripped the DVD with both AnyDVD and DVDShrink. I can watch the ripped files fine on PowerDVD or Nero,

BUT :confused: when I try to author the files on a new disc w/Nero the stripes appear. They appear on both the pre-burn preview and the burned disc. On the preview, it doesn’t seem to matter whether format is set to PAL or NTSC, the stripes appear on certain episodes. I can play the burned (NTSC converted) disc on my TV player but with the stripes. Is this another layer of copy protection?

In case its relevant, I’m using a SONY DRU-840A, Region 1, that I have patched to be region free, following directions I found posted here.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Sylvilagus :confused:

Most modern DVD Players and TVs can play PAL or NTSC without modification; check your hardware to see if it supported. If not it might be worth considering an upgrade since current entry level hardware should support this.

Otherwise, use FAVC, ConvertX or DVD Flick to convert your DVDs.

Slainte

midders

[QUOTE=midders;2464636]Most modern DVD Players and TVs can play PAL or NTSC without modification; check your hardware to see if it supported. If not it might be worth considering an upgrade since current entry level hardware should support this.

Otherwise, use FAVC, ConvertX or DVD Flick to convert your DVDs.

Slainte

midders[/QUOTE]