Optorite vs nd-2500 vs nd-2510a bge vs nd-2510a svr

vbimport

hi,
I’m new to dvd burner thing.
I have few options to buy. Please let me know which is the best.

1. OPTORITE - This is same as Sony DRU530a except the label.

$69.50
Optorite 8X DVD+RW/-RW Drive Model DD0405, Retail

• Specifications -

2 face plates included beige and black face plate
Write Speed: 8X DVD+R, 8X DVD-R, 4X DVD+RW, 4X DVD-RW, 40X CD-R, 24X CD-RW
Read Speed: 40X CD-ROM, 12X DVD-ROM
Interface: Internal IDE/ATAPI
Buffer: 2MB
OS Support: Windows 95 / 98 / ME / XP / NT / 2000
Features: Burn-Proof technology prevents buffer under run errors
Packaging: Retail Box (see pictures for details)

1. $69.99
    NEC 8X DVD+RW/-RW Drive, Model ND-2500A, OEM Bulk
  • Specifications -

Write Speed: 8X DVD+R, 4X DVD+RW, 8X DVD-R, 4X DVD-RW, 32X CD-R, 16X CD-RW
Interface: ATAPI / E-IDE
OS Support: Windows XP/2000/Me/98SE
Features: Vertical operation possible, anti-dust seal
Packaging: OEM Bulk Pack

Model#: ND-2500A BGE
Item#: N82E16827152011

NEC 8X Beige Dual Layer DVD+/-RW Drive, Model ND-2510A, OEM BULK
$86.99

• Specifications -

Write Speed: 8X DVD+R, 4X DVD+RW, 8X DVD-R, 4X DVD-RW, 2.4X DVD+R DL, 32X CD-R, 16X CD-RW
OS Support: Windows XP/2000/Me/98SE
Features: Support for writing DVD+R DL; Vertical operation possible, anti-dust seal.
Packaging: OEM Bulk Pack (No Software Included)

Model#: ND-2510A BGE
Item#: N82E16827152021

Is dual layer that important? The ratings for optorite is pretty good but not dual layer. nec2500a is single layer and nec2510a is dual layer and $20 more. If the NEC ND-2500a can easiy be upgraded to ND2510a, then why to spend $20 more?

Also What is the difference between nd-2510a bge and nd-2510a svr? both are at newegg.com. nd-2510a svr is a buck more than nd-2510a bge.
I have a 1.6ghz XP pro compaq computer with 512 ram 80gb hd. Does anyone have compatible issues with any of the burners?

your suggestions are greatly appreciated.