Optiarc AD-7170A firmware 1.NC?

vbimport

Hi everybody!

I’ve just bought a Mac Pro with a Optiarc AD-7170A with a firmware version 1.NC. I haven’t seen any information on this version and don’t know if it’s very recent (not mentioned on the developers homepage, that’s NEC/Sony/Optiarc) or old or whatever advantages it may have over e.g. version 1.04.
Then again, there’s also a version 1.85 on Liggy and Dee’s page, which now totally confuses me.
If I just want to flash my drive to RPC-1 without changing too much else (unless it improves a lot of things, but doesn’t make the drive much louder…), is there a reason to wait for a patched version 1.NC, or can I just go and flash my drive with version 1.04? Or should I go with Liggys version 1.02c?

Thanks for any help and please excuse my ignorance, but I’m new to this. I have spent an afternoon trying to answer these questions on my own, but this is how far I’ve gotten.

Cheers

Stan

Latest version is 1.04 so the Liggy 1.04 is latest F.W. with bitsetting but you need to ask Liggy cause I’m not sure if you can use same firmware on Mac & PC both.

Optiarc drives in Mac have a different bootcode, so you should not use the 1.04 firmwares for your drive. 1.N7 and 1.N8 are compatible with your drive as well as the available Plextor PX-800A firmwares.

I already have 1.NC firmware at home but didn’t find time yet to integrate any patches.

Thanks jcusimano2 and Liggy for your answers.
So from what I understand I have the newest unpatched firmware on my drive.

Liggy if you ever get around to patching this 1.NC firmware to RPC-1 I will sure be a happy taker! :iagree:

Thanks for clearing this all up for me!

Have a great day!

Stan

I made an RPC1 patch for 1.NC a few hours ago. I hope to upload the file together with two AD-5630A firmwares this evening when I’m home from work.

Just tried your patched firmware and looks like it works!!! :clap:

THANK YOU VERY MUCH! :bow:

You’re the best! :iagree: