openSUSE 10.3 boot problems and other questions

Hi everyone,

I’ve tried installing this thing twice now, both times with the same result. I get to GRUB and hit enter on openSUSE and then just get a black screen. I can get to a terminal with “init 3” so that suggests something graphics related it seems…but I don’t know.

Tried to get this working for a day now and frankly it’s starting to grate. Hope one of you people who knows linux well can help with this one. It’s the rig in my signature that it’s installed on by the way.

Cheers
Chris

Hi Chriso,

I’m no Linux expert, just a user, and haven’t installed openSUSE 10.3 yet, but once you’ve completed the installer steps and right before you start the actual install, you should get a summary with the soft- and hardware you’ll be using. At that point you can check your graphics setup and I would expect SUSE to have automatically detected your nVidia card and assigned the open source ‘nv’ driver to it. If not, you can manually intervene at this point. I use the same AGP-card as you on 10.2 and although it wasn’t there during the original installation, I don’t remember having any problems fitting it into this system. Once you’re up and running with a GUI, you should then install the real nVidia driver for 3D support through SUSE package management. If you can’t get a GUI with the nv driver, try to install with the generic VESA display driver.

Have a look here: http://club.cdfreaks.com/f3/linux-newbie-advice-213868/index3.html , posts #75 at the bottom and following, also a graphics driver problem.

dang Cressida i forgot to mention your nic to Chriso in chat…sorry :doh:

[QUOTE=rolling56;1918773]dang Cressida i forgot to mention your nic to Chriso in chat…sorry :doh:[/QUOTE]
No problem, I wasn’t looking - and even if I was :slight_smile:

Chriso was asking Slayerking for help in chat.

If you can get into the basic terminal, at the login as your account.
Use

su  (super user access) 
*root password*
# sax2 -r