Ok, Full time newbie questions

ok, i am a newbie at cd-rw drives. first of all, wat is a virtual drive? clonecd and alcohol 120% both created virtual drives and i disabled them. do the virtual drives do anything? ok, i posted this next question on another thread but i want to include it in my newbie thread. i plugged in my cd-rw drive in and let winxp automatically install it. so, do i need to install a firmware for it? wat exactly does a firmware do? which firmware should i install for my norcent 48x12x48x? i read another thread that i shouldn’t install the one on the norcent website. please be patient with me. =)

Thanks~

a virtual drive simulates an extra cd-rom/dvd-rom so you can try back-ups (of your cd’s or dvd’s) without really burning them on a cd/dvd. it helps you to see if your back-ups work good.

firmware is like windows but then for your burner. it is a kind of small operations system for your burner. you only should upgrade your firmware if you have problems. or are a freak like us. but for the moment DO NOT PLAY WITH yOUR FIRMWARE…as you are new to it. if you do it wrong…you drive can be damaged or un usable

so i can use the virtual drive to burn a game to see if it will successfully burn right?

Originally posted by aznjosh
so i can use the virtual drive to burn a game to see if it will successfully burn right?

as the name already says : VIRTUAL.

Normally you have physical drives. Your floppy drive is A , your harddrive is C and your CDROM is D (this is just an example).

Now it is also possible to make an IMAGE of a cd. This procedure contains of reading all the contents on the CD and put it in one big IMAGE. (Sorta like Winzip does with a lot of files , but cd images are usually not compressed.).