Novice user needs help updating/checking firmware

Hello everyone,

I am a novice user who is experiencing problems with freezing and pixelation when copying some dvds. I have searched forums here and determined a couple of solutions that I think I should start with. One is getting better media which is easy and even i can do. The other involves checking to see if i have the correct/updated firmware for my dvd burner. I have a compaq presario CN500 notebood with a HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GMA-4082N optical drive. I am using dvd cloaner iv to burn. Most of what i back up are of good quality but sometimes, i have problems with pixelation and freezing/skipping. I want to update and/or make sure i have the correct firmware for the drive, but i don’t have a clue how to do this or how to flash the firmware if required. Can anybody help a technologically challenged newbie?

Your help would be greatly appreciated. :bow:

Hi and Welcome:

The thread is a guide for Nero CD-DVD Speed. Near the beginning of the guide (below the “Main Window”) is a discussion of how you can determine your drive’s firmware version.

http://club.cdfreaks.com/f96/cd-dvd-speed-user-guide-192563/

One place to get the utility is below:

http://www.cdspeed2000.com/

I appreciate the links. I read the guide but it’s pretty much all greek to me. How do I know if the firmware i have is the current one and if i need to upgrade, how do i do it. Is it the same as flashing the bios? I need more basic help. Treat me like a total idiot or maybe a flash link for dummies type thing.

Info from Nero info:

Nero InfoTool 4.4.0.0

Drive Information

Drive : HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GMA-4082N
Type : DVD±R/RW DL Recorder
Firmware Version : HQ04
Buffer Size : 2 MB
Date : ?
Serial Number : K0866N23434
Vendor Specific :
Drive Letter : F:
Mechanism : Tray
Read Speed : 31 X
Write Speed : n/a

Can anyone provide me with a link to upgrade this firmware if necessary and explain how to do it for me. Thanks.