Novice needs speed/lower costs/and info help

[qanda]This thread is about the Patriot Memory RAM STICKS NEEDED, 133X Read Speed. Click here to see full specs[/qanda][qanda]This thread is about the Patriot Memory SD, 2GB, 133X Read Speed. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]I’ve got a home built 601 MHz/32 bit op sys w/two 128 mb’s and a new 512 (PSS512133) that cost up the gazzoo and my rig is still too slow. I need a lower cost way to get the insta speed I need from my Pentium III…SOMEBODY HELP ME PLEASE…BEFORE I THROW THIS THING UP AGAINST THE WALL? (HEY I’M JUST LEARNING THIS STUFF SO IF MY COMMUNICATION SKILLS SEEM SHORT - understand. At least yesterday I installed the 512, never knew it was that easy…I’m not a Tecky but I can change a"battery".

Please consider it’s time to Give up the GHOST.

A 600MHZ will NOT do the job any more for Many Apps and Burning DVDs.

A year ago I went from a 750MHZ to a 1.8MHZ and am Very pleased that it runs just about Any App and Burns are satisfactory.

I recommend an IBM NetVista mini-tower - at least a 1,8 MHZ - as I have.
Specs:

Northwood Chip - very Fast
DDR - 400MHZ 3200MHZ memory - Really speeds things up
I got 1 GHZ for $15 and another for $18 - a year ago

Note the AGP slot is NON functional - to improve Video a PCI card is needed -
the onboard video works fine for me.

it has 2.0 USB.

Ebay auctions $10 to $20 plus shipping.
+++++++++++++++++++++

Another option is Del GX240 1.8GHZ

Has AGP slot for better video.
Uses Pc133 SDRAM which you might use if that is what your 512MHZ is.

But it has USB 1.1 so you need a USB 2.0 Card.

Ebay Desktops sell for $10 and Towers $20 to $30 depending of memory and size of HDD.
++++++++++++++++++

I’ve been looking at IBM Desktop (nonTower) 3.0 GHZ 512MHZ DDR2 and 40GB HDD in the $20 to $30 range plus shipping on Ebay.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I do Local pickup for $20 from an Ebayer that auctions Lots of stuff and has a good Reputation.