Notice your PC's HDD/SSD Activity LED flashing constantly? MCSE guy(s) to the rescue?

vbimport

I’m a new SSD owner, having now had one fail and one new (so I’m an expert :disagree:) and have been working hard to address my paranoia associated with “wearing-out” an SSD with extraneous write activity. To this end I’ve done a lot of tweaks especially creation of a RAMDisk to off-load “nuisance writes” such as Windows and AppData temp folders, Firefox and Thunderbird cache, Windows event logging, and the like. Works great.

But one thing that annoys the bloody heck out of me is my PC’s HDD activity LED pulses constantly; once per second, and it is relentless. After an appalling amount of time looking for the culprit, it turns-out it is simply Windows polling my CD/DVD drives, no doubt looking for media. I can make the pulsing LED disappear ONLY, SOLELY by disabling the drive in Windows Device Manager. Poof–problem gone. Why is it a problem? Well the LED will otherwise be a clue to me if my SSD is being accessed, but now the LED is sorta useless for that.

Questions:

1. Does this concern any SSD owners here, and does anyone know of a better solution than disabling the drive?

2. I have Pioneer, LG, and Liteon drives, and the Pio appears quiet vs. the others. So I assume it is a driver and/or firmware issue. Might the MCSE author know the driver/firmware workings well enough to suggest (or make) a solution to this?

I suppose the MCSE author(s) will not be interested unless they have SSDs themselves…

Anyone else bothered by this, or am I the only worrier? Please, no moron posts about unplugging the LED or putting duct tape over it–it is a useful tool (especially with an SSD since you no longer have a hdd chit-chitting when it’s accessed) and not one I want to do without.

I don’t know if your running Vista but this might interest you :

I have always wanted to know why my HD light was showing activity all the time. Thanks