Not sure about firmware

vbimport

Hey everyone,

Just got myself a Philips 1640P DVD drive (OEM) and when I used Nero Info tool to take a look at the firmware to see if it had the lastest I got a surprize when it said I had B2.2 and when I look at the philips firmware they are all P’s

I’ve taken a screen shot of Info Tool, I’m completely new to all these DVD burners and so came straight here to ask.

Is my Drive ok and do I flash it with the P firmware i see for philips drives? Also can someone point me in the direction to understanding all this Cross flashing. I’m curious why poeple cross flash and the advantages of it.

Cheers :slight_smile:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=116819

Hi, you have many choices.

You can stick with the “B” firmeware IE:2.4, 3.0, 3.2

or Change to “P” firmware IE: 2.4,2.5,3.0,3.2 By using the .CVT file and Winflash.

or Change to any of the Benq Firmwares by using the Benq .CVT files and Winflash.

All of which are very similar result wise.
Whichever I use I still get very high PI errors (approaching 320) in the last 1.5gb using 3 different types of Media.
None of these Media were a problem with the 2x NEC2500a’s I used before.
So I am unsure whether it is a problem with this burner, or the Firmware.

Which media are you using?
I would guess it’s the media you are using or maybe a bad drive. Many of us get scans with PI errors much much better than that with good media. PIE AVE ~2 Max ~8 for example
On the other hand, my Ritek R03’s scans look terrible with high PIE’s.

Tried Ritek R03, CMC mag E01, Fuji 03. All give same results. Have some Verbatim MCC03’s coming tomorrow will test with these.
All the above worked fine with the NEC2500a, especially the Fuji03 they were the best of all, with very low PI/PIF.

The following disk when tested 3 hours using DVDinfo the PIE were hitting 320 at end.
Now (after watching the whole Movie on standalone) these are two scans of the same disk.