Norton anti-virus a pile of poo?

vbimport

Well ive been using norton antivius for a while now, but it seems that it cant sort out the problems its designed to do. After I run a virus scan (in safe mode) it picks up about 11 “viruses”, which include some tracking cookies, and some w32.bloodhound virus or something. So I go to the next step in the process which is to quarantine… all quarantine fail, so i click delete… all delete fail… does anyone else have this problem?

nope, the trick is to have NO viruses BEFORE you install NAV LOL :bigsmile: I have been using norton internet security for three years which acts as a firewall and has norton antivurus and prevents the viruses before they have royally f*ck your computer like NAV does. Try trend micro’s anti vuris software, they are pretty good.

Have a try with this: http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

I stopped using Norton back last year sometime, it became too bloated for my tastes…now I just use an anti-virus/firewall combo that I get free from my ISP, seems to do the job fairly well - I always do a Trend Micro scan afterwards to be sure, though.

:slight_smile:

Edit: LOL, gregtherotterius beat me to it on the Trend Micro thing. :bigsmile:

lol, my hard disk is too BIG to just rely on a simple thing. The reason why norton has become bloatware is because it watches every single thing your computer does. Iv’e got 1 gig ram now so i dont notice any lagging. It takes an hour to scan 120 gigs of files and i hate doing it so i gont mind norton internet security :cop: .

it could be that im using the 2003 version. Im using it because my dad bought the program for our old computer and it refused to work (not suprising with a 6gb hard disk and 128mb of ram), however it should work as because it hasnt been installed on any other machine i still get free updates for the next 2 years.

I must admit, I do miss Norton’s Script Blocking option. Made things so much…easier. :slight_smile: