Normal to see rings on most dvds burned with benq 1620?

vbimport

Hi, I have had the BenQ 1620 for a while now and it’s one of my best burners, but something I have always wondered was that if it is normal to see rings on the burned side of a dvd. Is this normal or could this be a defect? Because I also own NEC 3500 and the burned side of a dvd burned with it doesn’t have these rings, it’s more consistent in color, unlike the benq.

I have NOT seen any rings on any of the DVD’s that I’ve burned on my 1620.

I have seen rings only a few times. Never on the BenQ, only with the NEC 2500A. It occurred on Ridisc media (RITEK G05). I believe the rings are where the drive has changed speed. the disks played back perfectly on my stand alone.

I don’t think it’s anything to worry about, but I am no expert… Others here may know better.

Legs2Sag

I burned alot of mcc003 and prodiscr03 and I always see rings on them, I also think it’s when the drive is changing speed etc., but I’m sure the NEC probably does the same think too but the burned side looks much more uniform.

I burn a lot of prodisc r03’s and I don’t have any rings whatsoever. These rings could only be caused by the laser power suddenly changing abruptly, and could well mean some sort of calibration problems within the drive.

Do these rings show up in CDSpeed as a sudden jump in errors?

What do you mean by “rings” exactly? The part of the DVD that is now “burned” or “written” on?

Yes.

I’ve only ever seen these rings when using really cheap media on my NEC ND2510A as well. Never with the BenQ or NEC ND3500AG as of yet. My question would have to be, “What media are you using?”. If it’s really cheap stuff that may very well be the problem.

Sorry about my empty post above, something went wrong…

@SonnyUnlocker, are you refering to the actual colour diference between burned and not Used disk surface, or several rings of different colour ?