Normal performance for a BenQ 1620?

vbimport

I’m a complete newbie to burning and could use some much appreciated help. I just purchased my first burner from newegg which is the BenQ 1620 OEM version that also came with an OEM version of Nero. I knew a little about the drive and flashed it to the retail version and then the newest firmware B7U9. I used dvd shrink to copy a dvd I own(Resident Evil) and the encoding took around 15 minutes. Proceeded to burn and that took an hour on a Teon dvd-r at 12x according to dvd shrink… The performance has been pretty much the same with a few other dvd’s I burned as well. Is this normal? Could I be using the program wrong? I keep reading posts where I see people claiming they’ burned things in around 6 minutes or so… How can I get results like that? Please help me out for I know not what I do!

Welcome Grae,
If your Firmware update was successful your burning time should be a fraction of what you stated above.Give some information on your system setup so we can try to eliminate the problem.

I’m on a 3.2 p4, 800mhz bus, with a gig of ram, and using xp home. I think may have determined the problem by searching through the forum. My dma for the drive is turned off… Should this be inabled? If so, how do I go about doing that?

http://www.dvdshrink.info/dvd-decrypter.php Good Luck

Mark

Crap I just got done editing your first post and asking then telling you how to do it. But the damn thing didn’t take, just the link. So I’ll try again. Go into device mgr and click on your IDE controller. Try to roll it over there. That probably won’t work but it’s the easiest to start with. If not, un-install that drive, shut down and reboot. If that doesn’t do it for you then start doing system restores one at a time untill you get it back. Be patient, it can be a pain in the ass. I’d suggest doing a restore back to the first day before you installed the drive that you can.

Mark

Grae,