Noobie issues with Pioneer DVR111D

I’m a newbie to Double Layer burning, but not to DVD burning. I picked up a DVR111D and the first DL media I could find (Memorex). I typically use ImgBurn but also have TMPGEnc DVD Author, Padus DiscJuggler for burning software. Firmware reports as 1.23.

Issue 1: Media is not recognized. Nero Infotool reports “no disc inserted”; ImgBurn (after “getting…” a whole bunch of information) reports “disc not empty”.

Issue 2: Trouble updating firmware. It appears that version 1.29 is the most recent firmware, but trying to run f/w updater, I get:

C:\DVRA11\FW129EU>UPGA11.exe
/// ODD Firmware Update Utility Ver2.37A
Detect the Intel’s IDE driver.
Available target is not found.

I’m going to go out and hunt for some Verbatim discs, but I fear I have bigger problems?

of course, thanks for any pointers, even if the usual “you didn’t read this post first, dummy”.

@ Redmondman,

Welcome to the Forum.

Get rid of the garbage Memorex DL Media and most definitely obtain Verbatim DL MKM001/MKM003 Mitsubishi Kagaku Media.

You have a Pioneer DVR-111D and should be using Pioneer DVR-111D Firmware and NOT DVR-A11 Firmware. Suggest obtaining Pioneer DVR-111D v1.29 Firmware from below ->

http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=2220

Regards,
bjkg

Thanks, I too discovered my bonehead user error (wrong firmware). I was able to update the firmware successfully. Will report back on the media.

Wondering if I have a bum drive. I dropped a TDK DVD+R SL in the drive (media that has been flawless with my NEC writer) and I get the same behavior…

[QUOTE=Redmondman;1926149]Wondering if I have a bum drive. I dropped a TDK DVD+R SL in the drive (media that has been flawless with my NEC writer) and I get the same behavior…[/QUOTE]

That is also not good media. Please post the MID/mediacode…

In case of DL, please use Verbatim DL media (MKM001 / MKM003 mediacode).

Quick updates:

Memorex-branded disc: RITEK-D01-01