Noob question about NEC 3540A

vbimport

Hi gang -
I just got my 3540A and a spindle of Memorex 16x DVD+Rs yesterday. I fired up both Nero and Roxio Easy CD creator and found that I could not select a DVD burn speed faster than 12x in either app. I’m using the stock firmware.
Did I pick crappy discs? Do I need a new firmware? I ran Nero CD-DVD Spped and the benchmark test reports my average burn speed as 11.05x
I’m new to DVD burning, so keep it simple!
Thanks!

Not all 16x media is burnable at 16x with the NEC, cheaper media is burned at lower speeds in order to keep the quality of the burns high. (This applies not only to NEC burners.)

In Nero CD-DVD speed, you can click on the “disc info” tab and check the MID the find out what media you are using and what write speeds are available for this media.

Ahhh. It seems the Memorexes I bought are “CMC MAG M01 (000)” which will burn at 4, 6, 8, or 12x. I guess they’re not the greatest discs in the world. I’ve got 49 more of them to get through :slight_smile:

Which discs will burn at 16x?

Thanks for the info.

They will burn at 16x with Liggy and Dee’s modified firmware. However, it is not garuanteed that the results will be good. You’ll have to try that for yourself.

Please note that flashing a modified firmware voids the warranty on the drive.