No disc in drive

hi all - i’m new to this so bear with me please. DVD RW drive is a TS H552D. only had this pc/drive for 3 months & had only burned 2 discs when at the third it just replied with “no disc in drive”. wont recognise cd’s, ms master disc, any file on a disc via ms explorer, media player - nothing. all looks okay in device manager no yellow warnings nor red crosses - EVERYTHING ELSE LOOKS NORMAL
i have read similar issues on these forums but cannot locate them. Been on it for a few days now. oem are little help.
thanks to anyone out there.
PS the dvd software i had loaded has been replaced with an upgraded trial version from Cyberlink - i was running out of ideas.
any links to fee-bees to make sure the drive is so, would be a help.

ta much
profidiot

The first thing to do at this point is check the cables. It is possible that it/they are loose. If all is well with that, then you should try uninstall/install hardware to be certain that the drive is fully recognized. i have no idea what software you are using, but Windows also has a reader/writer facility. Then again you can try using what came with the drive and a new blank. If these efforts fail it is very possible the drive is a dud. Good luck

hi jc836,
Only did two burns.
Up till then the thing was okay, reading everthing, games, films, cd’s the lot
I was running powerdvd6 and power2go which came with it
Now the system will not even recognise a disc in the drive using ms explorer
its as if the “codecs” (look whos has been reading other forum threads) are missing or corrupt. i’ve uninstalled the device, the IDE secondary, checked for DMA not PIO, checked imapi? via msconfig? (which was at manual - i may have another try with that).
Still in warranty so not wanting to open it up. The oem has promised a new drive within the week so i’ll check the cables then.
Where is the windows reader /writer?
Thanks

Profidiot: