Newcomer for burning DVD's + CD's

Hello everyone,

I am Robbie im new to the CD Burning so please dont flame this newbie too much :smiley: I will list everything I am using and go from there.

Computer I use
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 1gig memory 2 Harddrives 80 + 60gb
LITEON 16X External DVD+R / +RW DRIVE
16X DVD+R
16X DVD-R
RW DVD+R DL DVD+R Double Layer 8.5GB Data / 4 Hours Video / 2,000 Songs
Includes Nero Vision Express 2 and PowerDVD 5

Blank CD’s I Have
Memorex DVD -R 8x 4.7GB 120 min Video

The help Im needing is the basics, I am a complete newbie. I have been reading the forums and im getting the basics down but I can’t find any tutorials on how to start out Copying DVDs or converting movies from a format to another format to burn on a CD. I heard it was possible to burn a movie to a cd-r and watch it on your dvd player.

Any Links to any specific tutorials would be much appreciated I want to try to learn as much as possible about burning and copying DVDS + CD’s. Thank You everyone for taking the time to read this I know its long but im in desperate need of help :frowning:

Hi there…

I can help a little,If you want to convert format into diffrent formats I use a program called “MAINCONCEPT” it dose the job well,But if you want to conver DIVX,AVI,MPEG 1/2 and any other format in DVD vob files I use DIXV2DVD thats a good program too and to burn DVD vob files to DVD -/+ R’s use a program called DVDSANTA all the programs a userfriendly and easy to use…
DVDSHRINK is a good program for backing up DVDs and thats easy and userfriedly…

See how you get on with those

Thank You Danny G,

DVDSHRINK, does it do the complete backup without having to convert and all that? I mean is that what I do to put a blank dvd in my DVD ROM and a blank DVD -/+R’s into my dvd burner and just copy it like that? Im so newbie but im willing to learn. Im just starting out as a baby and very new at this and everytime I read about it I get lost more and more lol