NewbQ: 832S (VS0A) no burns with G05

vbimport

I’m new to this whole DVD Archiving process … and everything was going well with my Lite-ON SOHW-832S with Firmware: VS0A. Was using 4x media at 2x & 4x without any hitch. Got some Ritek/Ridata 8x G05 media. Having all SORTS of problems with 8x (depends on the app - Roxio, Nero, etc) … When I burn at 6x, same issues. I’ve burnt at 4x on a couple of times and typically Nero can’t write the Lead-Out (?) data … but luckily my DVD Player will still play the discs … but I do get lots of errors!

Is there someone who has used Ritek/Ridata 8x G05 media in the SOHW-832S (not an earlier version flashed up) … and had it work? If so, what Firmware are you using or what did you change the strat to ???

Forgive me, I know this has probably been answered somewhere – I did do a search … found lots of stuff of Strats & Results … Didn’t see anything that said “This strat works in your situtation” …

Previous media that worked: ProdiscS03 (2x & 4x) , AN31 (2x Only, 4x creates errors)

1/ Select the [thread=100190]Changing write strategies (results thread)[/thread].
2/ Click the “Search this Thread” Link.
3/ Type “G05”.

Hey presto, 10 results. :wink:

I’m sorry, maybe you misunderstood me … I read that thread … in its entirety … If I’m ignorant and missed something PLEASE TELL ME. Of those 10 posts, 8 relate to different media (4x branded G05 media) or different drives (812S firm up’d to 832S). Ive even done a search of G05 in the entire forum site and read all the posts i could find for FOUR HOURS! …

I don’t mean to be rude, but some help would be appreciated vs. telling me to read through everything again. This is a 20 second answer.

Have you used your 832s with G05? What speed did you attain? What firmware were you using and what strat?

Of the two posts I’ve found, people used older firmware version and the G06 strat to burn. I will try this first but wanted to see if there was a concensus first.

Thanks.