Newbie with some hopefully simple question

vbimport

Hi everyone, I really am new to all this. I have just purchased DVDFab platinum and was doing fine until a couple of days ago. I’ve burned some dvd’s and when i went to watch them they didn’t play properly at all, it was as if the movie was stepping through really slow…hope that makes sense. I then burned another dvd and when iwent to play it on the dvd player it didn’t register at all. Also does DVDfan platinum copy dvd’s that are copyright protected or do i need to buy another program for that? Any help would be much appreciated…please keep answers simple as i really am new to all this dvd burning. Thanks.

Hello, pkralev. Welcome to the club! Like you, I’m a newbie. Maybe you have the version of Fab Platinum which doesn’t copy protected dvd’s.
When I got mine a couple of months ago, there were two flavours for sale: one which could deal with protected dvd’s, and one which didn’t.
This is probably no help to you, but at least you know someone read your post. See you later, then. :slight_smile:

Were you trying to play the DVDs on a standalone player or on the PC?

If it was on the PC can you recall how long it took to burn the DVDs in the first place?

Hi pkralev. This sounds like maybe you need to make some changes in “Common Settings”. The following are found on the “Common Settings–>Write” page. If you are using -R blank media, set the write type to “SAO”; if using +R media, check the box that says “Set booktype to DVD-ROM”; set the Write speed to [B]one half[/B] of whatever your blank discs are rated and better to run a test at 4X and see how that works. You might also try a different brand of blank DVDs. Let us know if any of this helps.

Welcome to freaks.
What disc’s are you recording on, are they good quality or really cheap?
Remember crap in = crap out.