Newbie wanting to backup Music CDS and also convert them to MP3s

Please bear with me as Im a newbie to this…I have read loads of references online about various tools to help to the things below many of them free others not, but I guess I am too overloaded with info now…

I have read lots of references in this site too and looked at the many diff free downloads available with great reviews, but as I am new to this I don’t know which to choose or even how…??? On one site there were lots of peeps recommending a product called Tunebite, then on another site peeps saying no way dont load it it killed my PC’s … some of the posts are 3 years or so old so I am guessing some/most of the info therein is going to be out of date So for a newbie this is a bit of a minefield…

All I want to do is VERY basic I’m sure

1. make backups of my current Music CDs some recent ( including copyright protection ) others going back a number of years now …

2. Convert some of these into MP3 files and Burn a CD of those for backup

3. Play the backed up music files in other CD players and more specifically the car player…

None of my existing cd backups ( dating back a number of years) have ever played in the car CD player or certain standalone CD players… having researched I think I see my mistake, embarassingly it would appear that my backup copy was a data cd not an audio one… Sure everyone will think I am a twit now, but at the time I guess I assumed it was a technology issue causing the problem as the music played fine on my PC and to me at the time that meant it was an Audio recording …hmm this sounds so STUPIDLY obvious now. Its funny how over the years I have lost count of the number of peeps I know who have had the same problem and we all just assumed it was just old technology not working with new technology …