Newbie to DVD writers and Benq

vbimport

Hi all,

I am new to DVD burner not to mention BenQ. Thanks to this forum, I successfully flashed by BenQ 1620A OEM into retail. But, I am still overwhelmed by all the information on this website. I was hoping someone can spell out a few things for me while I continue to take in all the information from this forum.

1. With the retail firmware B7V9, is my BenQ capable of 4x DL burning?

2. I know people burn pass rated burn speeds of DVDs. Is this largely done with MediaCodeSpeedEdit? Is there other software to look into?

3. What software is used to check the burn quality of DVDs?

4. Finally, what other fun stuff can I do with the drive???

Any info is greatly appreciated!! Thanks!!

:wink: read the FAQ thread: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=138436

Use NERO CD/DVD SPEED for scans to test discs.
http://www.cdspeed2000.com/

Thanks for the reply. I have been working through the FAQ and the media FAQ as well. I did a scan and got the following results. How are these results for a BenQ 1620? Thanks in advance,

General Information
Drive: BENQ DVD DD DW1620
Firmware: B7V9
Disc: DVD-R (TYG01)
Selected speed: 8 X
PI errors
Maximum: 9
Average: 1.14
Total: 7662
PI failures
Maximum: 5
Average: 0.06
Total: 532
PO failures: 0
Jitter
Maximum: 8.2 %
Average: 7.04 %
Scanning Statistics
Elapsed time: 8:49
Numer of samples: 15435
Average scanning interval: 8.00 ECC
Glitches removed: 0

That’s excellent quality. You are using top-notch media and you have a drive that functions very well.

I’m trying to interpret the results properly and found the following description:

PI (Parity Inner): No larger areas on the disc should exceed 280 PI errors, do not worry too much about high single spikes that exceeds 280.